I4MS: Fostering Digital
Industrial Innovation in Europe


17th and 18th of June



Pufendorfstraße 11 - 10249 Berlin


17th of June - Joint panel: Autonomik 4.0 and I4MS events

16:30 - 17:30
Autonomy in Complex Production Systems: European Opportunities and Challenges
Panel Topics:
  • Integration of service robotics and automation technologies
  • Legal, security, and safety aspects of autonomous components in manufacturing
  • European competiveness and the task of Horizon 2020: The need for collaboration of academia and industry; the impact of re-industrialization in the U.S. and others on European markets
  • Rainer Bischoff, Vice President euRobotics AISBL/ Head of Technology Development KUKA Laboratories GmbH
  • Maurizio Gattiglio, Chairman European Factories of the Future Research Association (EFFRA)
  • Andreas Goerdeler, Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy
  • Uwe Haass, Secretary General euRobotics AISBL 
  • Eric Hilgendorf, Univ. of Würzburg
  • Khalil Rouhana, Director Components & Systems, European Commission
  • Michael Waidner, Director Fraunhofer SIT
17:45 - 21:00
Get together of participants of the German Autonomik 4.0 and the European I4MS events

18th of June

8:00 - 8:30
8:30 - 8:45
Towards digital industrial innovation in Europe
Khalil Rouhana, Director for Components & Systems, Directorate General for Communication Networks, European Commission
8:45 - 9:00
Innovation actions in Horizon 2020: fostering collaboration with Member States and Regions
Max Lemke, Head of Unit of Complex Systems and Advanced Computing, DG for Communication Networks, European Commission
9:00 - 9:20
ICT Innovation for Manufacturing SMEs (I4MS) initiative
  • Silvia de la Maza, R&D Manager, Innovalia Association (ES)
  • Ulrich Thombansen, Process Control and Sensor Technology Group, Fraunhofer ILT (DE)
  • Gregor Veble, R&D, Head of Research, Pipistrel (SL)
9:20 - 9:40
The Factories of the Future Private Public Partenship (PPP) and industrial innovation
Maurizio Gattiglio, Chairman of EFFRA - Executive Vice President Operations, Prima Industrie SpA Group (IT)
9:40 - 10:00
Innovation in industrial robotics
Rainer Bischoff, Vice President euRobotics AISBL (BE) / Head of Technology Development KUKA Laboratories GmbH (DE)
10:00 - 10:20
Cloud based HPC simulation services in advanced manufacturing
Fouad el KHALDI, Industry Strategy & Innovation General Manager, ESI Group (FR)
10:20 - 10:40
Europe as a key innovator for industrial laser applications
Wolfgang Gries, CEO, DirectPhotonics Industries GmbH (DE)
10:40 - 11:00
Coffee break
11:00 - 13:00
Modernising Europe manufacturing capabilities through advanced ICT
  • Andreas Goerdeler, Deputy Director General, Federal Ministry of Economics and Energy (DE)
  • Ian Collier, Director of Operations of High Value Manufacturing Catapult (UK)
  • Reijo Tuokko, Professor, Tampere University of Technology, Baltic Sea Region Manufacturing Belt (FI)
  • Javier García Serrano, Head of the Industrial Leadership Department, Centre for the Development of Industrial Technology (ES)
  • Max Lemke, Head of Unit of Complex Systems and Advanced Computing, DG for Communication Networks, European Commission

The panel will also be joined by the keynote speakers
13:00 - 14:00
Lunch Break
14:00 - 15:10
Innovation in cloud-HPC powered simulation
Moderator: Francis Wray, Scapos (DE)
  • Andrés Gómez, Cesga (ES), Fortissimo
  • Matej Andrejasic, Pipistrel (SL), Fortissimo
  • Miguel Subira, Podoactiva (ES), CloudSME
  • Mark Elder, Simul8 (UK), CloudSME
  • Michel Pottiez, Numeca (BE), CloudFlow
  • Jean Claude Morel, Missler (FR), CloudFlow
15:10 - 15:50
Innovative robotics experiments in manufacturing
Moderator: Bruno Siciliano, University of Naples Federico II (IT)
  • Martin Hägele, Fraunhofer IPA (DE), EuRoC
  • Rainer Bischoff, KUKA Laboratories GmbH (DE), EuRoC
  • Christoph Huerzeler, Alstom Power (CH), EuRoC
  • Reinhard Lafrenz, TU Munich (DE), ECHORD++
15:50 - 16:10
Coffee break
16:10 - 17:00
Laser and Sensors- Experience from industry
Moderator: Ulrich Thombansen, Fraunhofer ILT (DE)
  • Jose Antonio Ramos de Campos, LASEA (BE), LASHARE
  • Jordi Garcia, MONOCROM (ES), LASHARE
  • Aitor Apraiz Arenaza, Mondragon Assembly S. Coop. (ES), APPOLO
  • Max Groenendijk, Lightmotif B.V. (NL), APPOLO
  • Hendric Matzat, Dr.Matzat & Co. GmbH (DE), INTEFIX
17:00 - 17:20
New opportunities under I4MS-Phase 2 and beyond.
Francesca Flamigni, Project Officer, Complex Systems and Advanced Computing Unit, DG for Communication Networks, European Commission
17:20 - 17:30
Closing remarks
  • Morning: Cathy Smith, Speak-Easy sprl
  • Afternoon: Rolf Riemenschneider, European Commission